August 12, 2008


Table of Contents




1.              Motion to Conduct an Executive Session                                                                

2.              Motion to Resume Meeting in Open Session                                                          

3.              Personnel Matter                                                                                                          

4.              Next Meeting                                                                                                                  





Minutes of a Special Meeting of the Power Authority of the State of New York held via video conference at the following participating locations at approximately 11:05 a.m.:

1)       New York Power Authority, 30 South Pearl Street, Albany, NY

2)       New York Power Authority, Niagara Power Project, 5777 Lewiston Road, Lewiston, NY


The following Members of the Board were present at the following locations:

                                Michael J. Townsend, Acting Chairman (Albany, NY)

                                James A. Besha, Sr., Trustee (Albany, NY)

                                D. Patrick Curley, Trustee (Albany, NY)

                                Elise M. Cusack, Trustee (Lewiston, NY)

                                Thomas W. Scozzafava, Trustee (Albany, NY)


           Robert E. Moses – Excused




Gil C. Quiniones                                   Acting Chief Operating Officer

Arthur Cambouris                                Acting Executive Vice President and General Counsel

Joseph Del Sindaco                             Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Edward Welz                                         Executive Vice President and Chief Engineer – Power Generation

Steven DeCarlo                                    Senior Vice President – Transmission

Angelo Esposito                                  Senior Vice President – Energy Services and Technology

Paul Finnegan                                       Senior Vice President – Public and Governmental Affairs

James Yates                                          Senior Vice President – Marketing and Economic Development

Joseph Carline                                      Assistant General Counsel – Power and Transmission

Anne Cahill                                           Corporate Secretary

Angela Graves                                      Deputy Corporate Secretary

Mary Jean Frank                                  Associate Corporate Secretary

Lou Paonessa                                       Community Relations Manager – Niagara Power Project




Acting Chairman Townsend presided over the meeting.  Corporate Secretary Cahill kept the Minutes.



1.             Motion to Conduct an Executive Session



“Mr. Chairman, I move that the Authority conduct an executive session pursuant to Section 105(1)(c), (d) and (f) of the Public Officers Law of the State of New York to discuss information relating to current and future investigations; to discuss proposed, pending or current litigation; and to discuss matters leading to the appointment, employment, promotion, discipline, suspension, dismissal, or removal of a particular person or corporation.”  Upon motion made and seconded, an Executive Session was held.



2.          Motion to Resume Meeting in Open Session

            “Mr. Chairman, I move to resume the meeting in Open Session.”  Upon motion made and seconded, the meeting resumed in open session. 


3.         Personnel Matter

After due consideration and upon motion made and seconded, the Trustees unanimously ratified the agreement entered into with former Executive Vice President and General Counsel Thomas J. Kelly upon the terms and conditions agreed to in the Executive Session. 




4.             Next Meeting


The next Regular Meeting of the Trustees will be held on Tuesday, September 23, 2008, at 11:00 a.m., at the Clarence D. Rappleyea Building, White Plains, New York, unless otherwise designated by the Chairman with the concurrence of the Trustees.







On motion duly made and seconded, the meeting was adjourned by the Chairman at approximately
2:15 p.m.





Anne B. Cahill

Corporate Secretary